First Test!

I gave my students their first test today. They scored an average of 19/50. Not too hot if you ask me. The history teacher was looking through my pile of tests and he was telling me which students were good at math and which were “lazy.” But then he told me that they did well overall. When he was telling me about the students all I could think about was how they are likely to perform exactly how you expect them to perform. It killed me so much to think about this.

I’m pretty sure there were a couple kids who cheated, too. This is a touchy subject to deal with. I was talking to Rebecca about it and she suggested that I talk to my teacher or headmaster about it. I know if I call them out they’ll most likely be punished physically. I saw some of the students being smacked today, and it just killed me. You could tell that it hurt them. I’m not sure I could live with knowing that I did that to students, even if I didn’t literally do it myself.

We were talking with the teachers yesterday about punishment in America. They couldn’t understand why we don’t smack our students. We were telling them that if as a teacher you smack your students, you will go to jail. We told them about detention, suspension and expulsion. They were also asking about punishment at home and again they couldn’t comprehend the concept of not physically punishing your child. We told them that there were some parents who spank, but if you hit your child too much, you’ll go to jail.

Back to the tests: my students scored a 40%. Ouch. The thing is that’s not bad here. I know it was too long and they couldn’t finish it. There were some students who didn’t even get to the second half. For the most part they were grasping the concepts I was trying to convey I think. I think I’m going to give them a chance to bring the test home and redo them. They mostly made arithmetic mistakes and forgot to take the antilog at the end.

Oh, and it was raining like all day. Wet feet are seriously the worst.

And it’s not even 3:00 yet.

Love you and miss you,

Love, Cass

~ by Cassie.Becker on May 11, 2011.

One Response to “First Test!”

  1. So I decided I would leave you a comment today, mostly because I am bored out of my mind 🙂 First of all, I will tell you that I miss you like crazy. You are never allowed to leave me to go to Africa again, it is just simply too far away, ok? lol I guess I will have to let you go away to camp after you get back…maybe I will kidnap you first, I think I will start working on that plan. 🙂 Overall, it sounds like you are having an amazing time! I am soooo jealous as I sit in my house for who know how many days now. (Job: please come soon!) Anyways, it sounds like you had an interesting day today with your first test! They didn’t do great, but I think you are all learning a lot. You are teaching them more than logarithms and arithmetic. It’s more than just math problems or physical punishment, you are listening to them and respecting them. You may be from a different culture with different cultural values, but they can tell you care about them. Even if you don’t see them responding to it all the time, I promise that they see something different in you. You are going to make an AMAZING teacher someday, actually I think you already are. 🙂 I’d better wrap this up so you don’t have to spend all day reading this, so I will simply tell you that I love you and miss you!!! Can’t wait to see you soon my dear!

    P.S. I hear you about the rain! It just finished thunder-storming here!

Leave a Reply

 
