Monduli

May 15, 2011

We just got back from a very long, very exhausting weekend. Over the last two days I have hiked over 20 miles! That was crazy. Yesterday (Saturday) morning we woke up and headed out to Monduli, a Maasai village, around 8am. We didn’t really know what to expect for the weekend. We definitely weren’t expecting to be hiking so much. We arrived to the village around 10:30 and started hiking almost immediately. Little did we know that we had just begun a 12.4 mile trek that was uphill both ways. No joke. I didn’t think it was possible but I’m pretty sure we spent more time going uphill both ways; even though we started and ended in the same place. The hike was very exhausting and honestly the end destination wasn’t all that rewarding, but it felt wonderful to be able to say that I’ve hiked 20 km. I feel as though I’m going to come back from the trip very toned.

Today we got to climb a mountain! From the base all the way to the summit. It was truly amazing. There are no words or pictures that could possibly accurately describe the view. Yesterday’s ridiculously long hike prepared us for today’s. We hiked about 7 miles total today. It was long and exhausting again but this was definitely worth it. I felt so good at the top of that mountain looking out forever. I really just can’t even describe it!

Now I’m back and showered and I feel wonderful. I was just on facebook and I got a message from one of the girls in my class that she loved the way I teach and she wants to take a picture with me and put it on facebook. It made me really happy. I’m glad to know that the students appreciate what we’re doing for them. I think in general they are much more appreciative here than American students.

I should probably go and lesson plan now, but I just wanted to check in with you all.

Love you and miss you,

Love, Cass

~ by Cassie.Becker on May 15, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
