Last Day Teaching

Wednesday May 25, 2011

Today was my last day teaching. I’ve come to realize that I’m going to miss my students like crazy. They truly are incredibly sweet. I gave a test today and then I had them do a sort of teacher evaluation writing one thing they liked and one thing they thought I should change. I had no idea that my students like me so much. Everything was so sweet. Some of my favorites are:

  • “[I] like the way you explain and ask if we need help, your friendliness, your punctuality and many more”
  • “You’re gentle and kind and understanding. You let everyone share his or her idea with someone else.”
  • “You teach while smiling that also made [me] enjoy your math lessons.”
  • “I have always been scared of asking questions in class but with you [I] feel very free to ask questions.”
  • “You teach politely and you always laugh that’s (sic) makes me happy when learning”
  • “Miss Cassie was teaching us mathematics for the past three weeks and for me they were the best mathematics weeks.”
  • “After you complete your studies come back to our school and teach us again. I shall never forget you.”
  • “I would really really !! want you to stay for long bcs (because) 3 weeks are not enough at all at least a year you could stay and I can also lend you my room if it’s a year.”

I went a little overboard but they were all just so sweet. The only critiques that I got were that I talk too fast (which is probably true. I told them to ask me to slow down if that was the case), and that my handwriting was too big on the board. I guess I can live with that. I think my teaching is just way more interactive and very different from their other teachers. I had several comments on how students aren’t afraid to ask questions. One boy told me he used to be afraid to go into the teacher’s room and he’d rather be physically punished than have harsh words said to him, but he wasn’t afraid to ask me questions. It just kills me that kids are punished or scolded for being wrong. There’s a reason you’re the teacher and they’re the students, and it has something to do with the fact that they are still learning the material.

Some of the girls in my class did henna on my hands today. It’s really sweet. They each took a hand and went at it. It’s free form and it’s incredibly pretty. They say they do it all the time. Generally you only do it for weddings, vacations, or big days. Sounds kind of like a manicure or pedicure in the US to me. It should be on for about a week they said, so hopefully it’s still on when I come back to the states. I did take pictures, though.

The next two days we will just be hanging out in the schools because there’s no math Thursday or Friday. 3 kids from Purdue are coming to our school and the 2 Prime elementary students are too. I have no idea what they are going to do since we can barely occupy ourselves. I think they’re going to watch other classes. Fun stuff. I think that’s all for today. I’m ready to come home, but at the same time I want to stay forever.

Love you and miss you,

Love, Cass

~ by Cassie.Becker on May 25, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
