Living it Up

Thursday, May 26, 2011

Well it’s almost time to go. Only one more day in the schools and then half a day around town. I’m trying to really enjoy my last few days and experience as much as possible. Today, being Thursday, none of the Prime people taught. Prime elementary school was closed, so the two elementary teachers had to come over to our school. Also, Tetra Lutheran, where the Purdue kids are teaching, was closed so we had three of them at our school, too. That made a jump of normally 3 muzungus (white people) to 8, which I thought was a little overwhelming. Especially because it’s a very small school. We only have 4 classes, but form 4 (12th grade) doesn’t have school because they just finished teaching. That left 8 students in 3 classes, which would have really overwhelmed me. We observed the first block of classes and then decided we needed to work on our capstone project for a while. The Purdue kids observed another block. We, however, made a lot of progress on our project. Then during tea time Emily had her hands done with henna. The girls gave her the exact same pattern as they gave me. It was just precious to see everyone standing around and watching, though. After that we chatted with the teachers a bit about various things including relationships, which was really interesting. They think if you date for 3 months it’s appropriate to get engaged. I’m thinking wait a minute. Too fast!

After school we conquered town again. We stopped by the tanzanite museum (where I gave in and bought a small piece to have set into a ring), the book store, the money exchange, and the Masaai market. I think I finished getting the souvenirs I need and I have a little bit of money left as well as some clothes and shoes for trade to get whatever I want on Saturday. We also ran into a couple students in town so it was nice to chat with them for a bit while walking. It’s interesting because when you see people in Tanzania they are likely to stop whatever they are doing and start talking and walking with you. It’s almost like they’re just out wandering around looking for something to do rather than out with a purpose like would be done in America.

I’ve really loved my time here and I think it’s going to be so hard to say goodbye tomorrow. I love my kids and I’m going to miss them a lot. Especially because I’ve just started to really get to know them. On the other hand, I feel as though it is time for me to come home because I miss everyone very much.

Love you and miss you,

Love, Cass

~ by Cassie.Becker on May 26, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
