Last Day

Today was our last full day in Africa. We head home tomorrow. I cannot believe how quickly the last month has gone. I know I’ve said this about a million times, but I love it here and I love the kids and I’m not ready to leave. At the same time, however, I’m ready to come home and see everyone I love in America!

Today at school was really difficult. We had to say goodbye to all of our students and the wonderful teachers. We had our pictures taken more times than I can count, and gave goodbye speeches and heard from the students. It was very bittersweet. Some of my girls had gifts for us. A beautiful handmade card, jewelry, art, a box, chocolate. I’m so glad that I have made a difference in their lives. I love the kids here and I’m surprised I didn’t cry saying goodbye. All of the teachers were sure to tell us that if we want to come back we are more than welcome to stay with them. Even if we come on a personal visit, we need to stop by and see them.

This morning there was a soccer game between the Sekei teachers from down the road (from GVSU too … and Zack joined their team) and the Sekei students. Since it was in a field directly outside of our school, we went over and watched that for the morning. The 8am game got started around 9:30 and we had to leave for tea at 10 so that was kind of a bummer, but what we did see was awesome. I’m not sure if he posted it yet, but Cody had a very complete and creative description of the game. Check out tanzaniamath.wordpress.com for his take on the experience. The teachers surprisingly won 3-1. Although a student playing on their team scored 2 of the goals I think.

We also had tea with the headmasters of the primary and the secondary schools and our professors this morning. That was quite enjoyable. They just wanted to show their appreciation for us coming in and teaching and we wanted to show ours for allowing us to do so. We were talking about what we learned and what we took away from the experience with them, which I think was pretty insightful. The headmaster of the secondary school told us that he liked how much we involved students and thought it was something he wanted to try implementing as a more permanent structure for the classroom. I feel as though I was actually able to make a difference there.

Tonight we are headed to dinner and then back here for a celebratory party. Tomorrow we will have lunch out, go into town for a while, and then head to the airport in the early evening. This is likely to be my last post. I’ll be sure to update my facebook once I land in Detroit, so if you’re interested in my flight status you can check there. It’s supposed to be around 11am Sunday.

Love you and miss you,

Love, Cass

~ by Cassie.Becker on May 27, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
